CWO Sacred Heart Parish, Diobu launched N20m project

The Catholic Women Organisation (CWO), Sacred Heart Catholic Church, Ilobuchi/Abel Jumbo Street, Mile 2 Diobu, Port Harcourt, on Sunday, May 26, 2019 launched N20million land purchase for youth and women empowerment.

The Parish President of the organization, Mrs. Mary Joy Anukem explained that the gathering was for self help projects and the need to promote income generation. “This project is for the sustenance of family units towards self reliance and sufficiency and to have a sound mind and healthy living”, she said.

Mrs. Anukem disclosed that they project was targeted at snail farming, vegetable farming, cassava farming and procession. “We also need to sink bore hole, a generator to supply power, fish farming and plantain plantation etc”.

She congratulated the awardees on their outstanding contributions and devotions to CWO and the Church in general.

The Chairperson Planning Committee, Mrs. Florence Oluoha appreciated the women for their support and encouragement and prayed God to give them the grace to work tirelessly in his vineyard.

In his message to the group, the Parish Priest, Rev. Fr. Donatus C. Ukulor commended the women for their thought of building a development centre for youth and women empowerment.

He urged them to always promote vocation to family life by encouraging women to imbibe the habit of family prayer and devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Earlier in his homily at the Holy Mass, Fr. Ukulor reminded the people that the Holy Spirit has not stop work in the life of the Church and enjoined them to be open to the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

“We must be renewed to be become better Christians, our faith in God needs to be renewed for us to carry out the work of evangelization to the end of the earth”, he said.

Highlights of the event were conferment of CWO Matron on Mrs. Christy Alawa, virtuous Woman on Lolo Esther Nwosu and Lady Patience Amaefule.

The 2019 CWO Ezinne were conferred on Mrs. Justina Oguoke, Mrs. Joy Ogbuehe, Mrs. Rosemary P. M. Okoroafor, Mrs. Grace Onwuachu, Mrs. Celestina Anosike and Mrs. Benedeth Iwuegbu.

“Light of CWO” was given to Mr. Charles Nkem Nwankwo and Ezinne Monica Michael while “Dedicated Mothers” were conferred on Justina Agu, Ezinne Ada Iloauya and Ezinne Fyna Abawuru.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *