Etokudoh Inaugurates Diocesan Pastoral and Laity Councils

Etokudoh Inaugurates Diocesan  Pastoral and Laity Councils

The newly constituted members of the Diocesan Pastoral Council and the elected officers of the Diocesan Laity Council, converged on Saturday, 9th February, 2019, at the Corpus Christi Cathedral, Port Harcourt, for their inauguration. The event started with a Holy Mass concelebrated by the Catholic Bishop of Port Harcourt Diocese, Most Rev. Camillus Archibong Etokudoh.

In his homily, Bishop Etokudoh charged the officers to always take pity on the sheep they have been called to shepherd. He said that the disciples of Jesus returned to him having received powers to cast out demons and to proclaim the Lord’s year of favour to the people.

The people started looking for Jesus to the extent that he had no time to eat but Jesus, seeing the crowd, had pity on them because they were like sheep without a shepherd. He told the new officers that they have been called into the administration of the Church and must play their roles to bring about what is needed in the Church.

“The Pastoral Council is the decision making body of the Church while the Laity Council is the implementation arm of the Church, as people united in faith and action, you must carry out your roles fearlessly and courageously without fear or favour”, he added.

The Bishop further charged the officers to resolve to promote what would unite them and avoid unhealthy competitions and scandals that would give the Church a bad name.

Amongst the elected officers of the Laity council were; Sir Cyril Osere, President; Sir Benson Abu, Vice President; Barr (Mrs.) Efe Favour Imonivwerha, Secretary; Chidinma Osuagwu, Assistant Secretary; Barr Blessing Boro, Treasurer and Mr. Sunny Arima, Financial Secretary

Others were Sir Polycarp Peera and Mrs. Doris Krukrubo as Welfare officer and Publicity Secretary respectively.

Post source : Favour Omonivwerha

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *